• AAMVA Awards Program

  • AAMVA’s awards program fosters a tradition of excellence in the motor vehicle and law enforcement community by honoring individuals, teams, and organizations who have committed their time and resources to safety and security initiatives, outstanding customer service, and public affairs and consumer educational programs throughout North America. Each year, AAMVA receives numerous outstanding submissions in each category and through a rigorous judging process selects those that are exemplary. Awards are presented at our Regional Conferences and at our Annual International Conference.

    Submission Information

    Each jurisdiction agency should complete and send one award entry form with the accompanying information specified in each award description for each award submission. Each award submission should be sent in a separate email. If an award submission is by more than one jurisdiction agency please send an entry form for each jurisdiction agency for that submission. All award submissions must be sent electronically. Please send a separate email for each award submission and include all materials for that award. If the materials are too large to send by email, please place in a zip file. Send to awards@aamva.org. For specific questions regarding awards and submissions, please contact Jessica Hill at awards@aamva.org.

    2017 Deadlines and Timeline
    2017 Award Dates


    AAMVA’s Awards Program is open to all AAMVA jurisdiction members that are in good standing. Entries submitted for the 2017 Awards must have been conducted (produced, implemented, and/or developed) between January 1 and December 31, 2016 (does not apply to the Martha Irwin Awards). Entries are to be submitted via email to awards@aamva.org by February 1, 2017 at 5 PM Eastern Time (April 15, 2016 at 5 PM Eastern Time for the Martha Irwin Awards).

    Questions about your jurisdiction membership status should be directed to Dianne Graham at dgraham@aamva.org or 703.908.8267.

    The AAMVA Safety Awards* recognize achievements in the following areas:

    * Visit each Safety Awards page (above) for detailed information including a list of the most recent award winners.

    Who Is Martha Irwin?

    Martha Irwin spent thirty-six years in Tennessee State Government, the first 22 years at the Department of Revenue before transferring to the Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) in 1988 as Assistant Director. The MVD was re-named the Title and Registration Division in 1990 and relocated to the Tennessee Department of Safety. In 1994, Ms. Irwin was named Director of the Title and Registration Division.   
    Ms. Irwin became very involved with AAMVA, first as a member of the Region 2 Board of Directors and Region 2 president, and eventually a member of the International Board. In 2000, Martha became Chair of the AAMVA International Board and adopted her theme, “Volunteers Making a Difference in Safety”. This idea led to the creation of an award for highway safety that helped get law enforcement more involved in the AAMVA community. When the award was given for the first time at the AAMVA International Conference in 2001, Martha was surprised to learn that this award carried her name – the Martha Irwin Award for Lifetime Achievement in Highway Safety.

    In 2013, the Martha Irwin Award was split into two categories: Law Enforcement and Motor Vehicle Administration. 

    Martha Irwin is currently enjoying retirement in Thompsons Station, TN.  

    The AAMVA Service Awards* recognize achievements in the following areas:

    * Visit each Service Awards page (above) for detailed information including a list of the most recent award winners.

    The AAMVA Security Awards* recognize achievements in the following areas:

    * Visit each Security Awards page (above) for detailed information including a list of the most recent awards winners. 

    The Public Affairs and Consumer Education (PACE) Awards Program* recognizes public relations, public affairs and consumer education excellence among the motor vehicle, law enforcement and traffic safety agencies across North America. They recognize creativity, cost effectiveness and the ability to reach consumers with a well crafted, measured and executed message in the following areas:

    Division Awards

    * Visit each PACE Awards page (above) for detailed information including a list of the most recent award winners.

    IDEC Examiner of the Year Award

    Annually, the International Driver Examiner Certification (IDEC) Board and AAMVA recognizes outstanding examiners through the IDEC Examiner of the Year award. Each member jurisdiction nominates one examiner for outstanding performance as a driver's license examiner. Examiners are selected for their excellence in adhering to the principles and recommended practices of driver examining (the Examiner's Code of Ethics) and for their high level of conduct in their profession. 

    Each jurisdiction's "Examiner of the Year" receives a certificate and a congratulatory letter from the IDEC Executive Board. 

    Visit the IDEC Examiner of the Year page for more information, including a list award recipients for the current year and for prior years.

    Jurisdictions interested in nominating an Examiner may contact Denise Hanchulak

  • Related Content