• Automated Vehicles Subcommittee

  • The purpose of the Automated Vehicle Subcommittee is to work with the AAMVA jurisdictions, law enforcement, federal agencies and other stakeholders to gather, organize and share information with the AAMVA community related to the development, design, testing, use and regulation of autonomous vehicles and other emerging vehicle technology. Based on the group's research, a best practices guide will be developed to assist member jurisdictions in regulating autonomous vehicles and testing the drivers who operate them.

    For more information contact Brian Ursino

    AAMVA is pleased to announce that Highly Automated Vehicle Technical Assistance is available. AAMVA and NHTSA recognized the need to provide educational based technical assistance to jurisdictions as they expand their understanding of vehicle technology and develop a strategy to address AV testing and deployment. Technical assistance will be facilitated by AAMVA and conducted by jurisdictional subject matter experts and AAMVA staff. The costs to provide the technical assistance will be funded by NHTSA.

    A complete description of the available assistance and an application can be found here.


    Bernard Soriano, PhD (2022)
    Deputy Director, Registration Operations
    California Department of Motor Vehicles  

    Canadian Jurisdiction Representative
    Jason Kuo (2024) 
    Vehicle Standards Engineer
    Alberta Transportation
    Canadian Jurisdiction Representative
    Wendy Doyle (2024) 

    Executive Director, Office of Traffic Safety
    Alberta Transportation

    Federal Government Representative
    Thomas Kelly
    State Program Manager
    U.S. Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration

    Federal Government Representative
    Jacqueline A. Milani
    Highway Safety Specialist
    U.S. National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
    Enforcement & Justice Services Division

    Project Manager
    Brian A. Ursino
    Director, Law Enforcement Programs  
    AAMVA Staff Member
    Paul J. Steier
    Director, Vehicle Programs



    Jeffrey Dixon (2023) 
    Chief of Commercial Vehicle Enforcement
    Florida Division of Highway Patrol

    Marcy Coleman (2022) 
    Assistant Administrator for Safety & Regulations
    Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles

    James Gregory (2024) 
    Technical Sergeant
    New York State Police

    William James Fackler (2024) 
    Director, Office of Program Support
    Michigan Department of State

    Christopher Todd Koermer (2023) 
    Transportation Director
    Maryland Public Service Commission
    David L. Jenkins (2023) 
    Assistant Chief
    California Highway Patrol

    James Kevin Lacy (2022) 
    State Traffic Engineer
    North Carolina Department of Transportation

    Christopher J. Kinn (2023) 
    Crash Reconstruction Commander
    Ohio State Highway Patrol
    Ronald J. Rysavy (2023) 
    Senior Dealer Agent
    South Dakota Division of Motor Vehicles

    Steve J. Madrak (2023) 
    Director, Bureau of Motor Vehicles
    Pennsylvania Department of Transportation
    Bureau of Motor Vehicles
    Nanette M. Schieke (2024) 
    CAV Program Manager
    Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration
    Courtney Saxon (2022) 
    Director of Branch Services
    South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles

    Angela Lobb Schneider (2023) 
    Legislative Analyst
    Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles
    VACANT (2023)

    VACANT (2024)

    Rich White (2023)
    Deputy Director, Division of Motorist Services
    Florida Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles
    Daniel Yeh (2022)
    Manager, Vehicle Services
    Iowa Department of Transportation


  • Related Content