Home > Members & Leaders > Board of Directors
  • AAMVA Board of Directors

  • Direction and leadership for AAMVA begins with the Board of Directors. The decisions of the board, which holds meetings throughout the year, are executed by the AAMVA President and CEO along with AAMVA staff. 

    ( Download a printable board list by region.)

      * Ex-Officio (non-voting)  |  [ ] = Appointed Term  |  ( ) = Elected Term

    Officers / Executive Committee Members 

    Holcomb-Richard - Headshot - thumbnail

    Richard Holcomb 
    Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles
    Chair (2016)


    Jean Shiomoto
    California Department of Motor Vehicles      
    Vice Chair (2016) 


    Kurt J. Myers
    Deputy Secretary 
    Pennsylvania Driver & Vehicle Services 
    Secretary/Treasurer (2016)


    Patrick A. Fernan 
    Wisconsin Department of Motor Vehicles
    Member at Large (2016)


    Mark D. Lowe 
    Iowa Motor Vehicle Division
    Immediate Past Chair (2016)


    Anne Ferro
    President & CEO 
    American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators


    Brewster Whitney Headshot thumbnail

    Whitney Brewster 
    Executive Director 
    Texas Department of Motor Vehicles 

    Coombes Terri Headshot thumbnail

    Terri L. Coombes  
    Deputy Chief of Staff 
    Director of Programs & Policies 
    Illinois Office of the Secretary of State  


    Francis Heidi headshot thumbnail

    Heidi Francis  
    Assistant Deputy Minister  
    Ontario Road User Safety Division 

    Hernandez Scott Headshot thumbnail

    Scott Hernandez
    Colorado State Patrol
    Department of Public Safety
    Law Enforcement Representative (2017)


    Robert D. Ide 
    Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles 


    Lisa Kaspar
    Kansas Department of Revenue
    [2015] Director (2016)

    Kohler Pat Headshot Thumbnail

    Pat Kohler 
    Washington Department of Licensing 

    Lahm Rhonda Headshot thumbnail

    Rhonda Lahm  
    Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles 

     Susan Lucas Headshot

      Susan Lucas
    Director, Driver & Vehicle Licensing
    Insurance Corporation of British Columbia
    Canadian Jurisdiction Representative [2016]

    Martinez Raymond headshot thumbnail

    Raymond Martinez
    Chairman & Chief Administrator
    New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission

    McClellan Tom Headshot thumbnail

    Thomas L. McClellan 
    Oregon Driver & Motor Vehicle Services 

    Mikell Rob Headshot thumbnail

    Robert G. Mikell
    Georgia Department of Driver Services 

    Brad Simpson Headshot (thumbnail)

    Brad L. Simpson 
    Utah Division of Motor Vehicles 



       The following content is restricted to AAMVA members. Members must be logged in to view the documentation.

      Annual Membership Meeting Minutes

      (Archived meeting minutes.)

      2015 Board Meeting Minutes

      2014 Board Meeting Minutes

      (Archived meeting minutes.)

      View the "Meet the Board" playlist on AAMVA's YouTube channel:

      Each region has its own Board of Directors and an AAMVA director of regional member support.  

      Region I

      President: Robert Ide, VT
      Vice President: Patty Morneault, ME
      Secretary/Treasurer: Andres Ayala, CT 
      Members at Large: Scott Vien, DE; Christine Nizer, MD
      Past President: Kurt Myers, PA
      International Board:  Kurt Myers, PA (Secretary/Treasurer); Heidi Francis, ON; Robert Ide, VT; Ray Martinez, NJ 

      Regional Director, Member Support: Patrice Aasmo 

      Minutes from AAMVA Region I Board Meetings

      Region 1 

      Links to Region I Jurisdictions

      Region II 

      President: Rodney Brewer, KY
      1st Vice President: Linda Cone, TN
      2nd Vice President: Robert Irving, VA
      Secretary/Treasurer: Kevin Shwedo, SC
      Members at Large: Whitney Brewster, TX;Stephen Campbell, LA; Boyd Dickerson-Walden, FL
      Past President: Brenda Coone, AL
      International Board: Richard Holcomb, VA (Chair); Rob Mikell, GA; Whitney Brewster, TX; Stephen Campbell, LA

      Regional Director, Member Support: Patrice Aasmo

      Minutes from AAMVA Region II Board Meetings

       Region 2

      Links to Region II Jurisdictions

      Region III

      President: Terri Coombes, IL
      Vice President: Rhonda Lahm, NE
      Treasurer: Patricia McCormack, MN
      Secretary: Lisa Kaspar, KS
      Members at Large: Mark Lowe, IA; Kent Abernathy, IN; Ward Keith, MB; Mike Wartella, MI; Mark Nelson, ND; Don Petit, OH; Jane Schrank, SD
      Past President: Patrick Fernan, WI
      International Board: Mark Lowe, IA; Mike Wartella, MI; Terri Coombes, IL; Patrick Fernan, WI (Member at Large)
      Ex-officio: Anne Ferro, AAMVA President & CEO
      Regional Director, Member Support: Sheila Prior 

      Region 3 

      Links to Region III Jurisdictions

      Region IV

      President: Thomas McClellan, OR
      Vice President: Pat Kohler, WA
      Treasurer: Steve Burford, AB
      Secretary: Sarah Garcia, MT
      Past President: Brad Simpson, UT
      Members at Large:  Mike Dixon, CO; Tom Loftin, WY
      Member: Jean Shiomoto, CA; Scott Hernandez, CO
      Law Enforcement Member At Large: Col. Ralph Powell, ID
      International Board: Brad Simpson, UT; Tom McClellan, OR; Pat Kohler, WA; Jean Shiomoto, CA (Vice Chair); Col. Scott Hernandez, CO (International LE Member at Large)                       
      Ex-officio: Anne Ferro, AAMVA President & CEO

      Regional Director, Member Support: Sheila Prior

      Region 4 

      Links to Region IV Jurisdictions

    • Related Content