dcsimg
  • Suspended and Revoked Drivers Working Group


  • Working Group Releases Best Practices Guide to Reducing Suspended DriversBest Practice Guide to Reducing Suspended Drivers (cover)

    (February 2013)
    The suspension of driving privileges has been used for decades to address poor driving behavior. However, what was originally intended as a sanction to address poor driving behavior is now used as a mechanism to gain compliance with non-highway safety, or social non-conformance, reasons. Eliminating suspensions for non-highway safety violations will significantly reduce the burden on DMVs, law enforcement, the courts and society. AAMVA's Suspended/Revoked Working Group recommends that legislatures repeal state laws requiring the suspension of driving privileges for non-highway safety related violations. Download the document today to learn more.

    Watch a video for a quick snapshot of the issue.

     

    Updated November 30, 2010

     

    Chair

    Rob Mikell
    Deputy Commissioner
    Department of Driver Services
    2206 East View Parkway
    Conyers, GA 30013
    T: (770) 918‐5880 / F: (678) 413‐8661
    Email: rmikell@dds.ga.gov
                                           

    AAMVA Staff Liaison

    Brian Ursino
    P.O. Box 16629
    Seattle, WA 98116
    T: (703) 350‐5103
    Email: bursino@aamva.org
                                          

    AAMVA Law Enforcement
                          
     
    Rick Maag
    Agent‐in‐Charge, Securities Division
    NM Regulation and Licensing Department
    2550 Cerrillos Road
    Santa Fe, NM 87505
    T: 505‐476‐4576 / F: 505‐383‐2331
    Email: richard.maag@state.nm.us
                                          
    Tom Clinkenbeard
    Arizona Motor Vehicle Division / ADOT
    PO Box 2100,
    Mail Drop‐514M
    Phoenix, AZ 85001
    T: (602) 712‐8180 / F: (602) 212‐1330
    Email: tclinkenbeard@azdot.gov
                             
    Colonel Robert W. Haley
    Illinois State Police
    801 South Seventh Street, Suite 300‐N
    Springfield, Illinois 62794‐9461
    T: (217) 782‐0112 / F: (217) 524‐5794
    Email: Rob_Haley@isp.state.il.us
                                 
    Captain Leonard Casper
    New York State Police
    Bldg. 22
    1220 Washington Ave.
    Albany, NY 12226‐2252
    T: 518‐457‐3258 / F: (518) 457‐9620
    Email: leonard.casper@troopers.ny.gov
                                         
    DMV Representatives
                                             
     
    Charles (Steve) Hooper
    Colorado Department of Revenue
    Operations Director / Driver Control
    1881 Pierce ‐ Room #164
    Lakewood, CO 80214
    T: (303) 205‐5795 / F: (303) 205‐5945
    Email: chooper@spike.dor.state.co.us
                                
    Teepu Khawja
    Road Safety Policy Office – Road Users
    Ministry of Transportation of Ontario
    1201 Wilson Avenue
    Building A, Room 212
    Downsview, Ontario M3M 1J8 Canada
    T: (416) 235‐3906 / F: (416) 235‐3633
    Email: Teepu.Khawja@ontario.ca
                                           
    Brad Brester
    Administrator, Driver License Bureau
    Missouri Department of Revenue
    P.O. Box 200
    Jefferson City, MO 65105‐0200
    301 West High Street, Room 470
    Jefferson City, MO 65105‐0200
    T: 573‐526‐3656 / F: 573‐526‐4548
    Email: brad.brester@dor.mo.gov
                                     
     
    National Sheriffs Association
                                                       
     
    John Whetsel, Sheriff
    Oklahoma County Sheriff's Office
    201 North Shartel Ave.,
    Oklahoma City, OK 73102
    T: (405) 869‐2511 / F: (405) 713‐1908
    Email: johwhe@oklahomacounty.org
                                           
    Dennis Conard, Sheriff
    Scott County
    400 W 4th St
    Davenport, IA 52801
    T: (563) 326‐8765
    Email: DConard@SCOTTCOUNTYIOWA.com
                                        
    George Wilhelm, Sheriff, Retired
    PO Box 504
    Faith, NC 28041
    C: 704‐798‐2687
    Email: g.wilhelm@carolina.rr.com
                                              
                               
    Transportation Research Board
                                       
     
    Rick Pain
    Transportation Research Board of the
    National Academy of Sciences
    500 Fifth Street, NW
    Washington, DC 20001
    T: 202.334.2964 / F: 202.334.2003
    Email: rpain@nas.edu
                                           
    Glenn Hansen, Captain
    Chair, TRB Traffic Law Enforcement Committee
    Howard County Police Department
    Northern District
    3410 Courthouse Drive
    Ellicott City, Maryland 21043
    T: 410.313.3203 / F: 410.313.3295
    Email: ghansen@howardcountymd.gov
                                            
    IACP
                                                    
     
    Earl Sweeney
    Chair, IACP Highway Safety Comm.
    Asst. Commissioner of Safety
    NH Department of Public Safety
    17 Fan Road
    Concord, NH 03301‐5098
    T: (603) 271‐2559 / F: 603.271.1785
    Email: esweeney@safety.state.nh.us
                                                
    Susan Culin, Captain
    Commander, Traffic Division
    Fairfax County Police
    3911 Woodburn Road
    Annandale, VA 22003
    T: 703.280.0551 / 703.280.0624
    Email: susan.culin@fairfaxcounty.gov
                                         
    Murray Pendleton, Chief
    Waterford Police Department
    41 Avery Lane
    Waterford, CT 06385‐2819
    T: 860.442.9451 / 860.442.2557 /
    C: 860.625.5499
    Email: mpendleton@waterfordct.org
                                      
     

    Prosecutors
                     

     
    Neil Dalton
    Special Deputy Attorney General
    North Carolina DOJ
    114 E. Edenton Street
    Raleigh, NC 27603
    T: (919) 716‐6543 / F: (919) 716‐6760
    Email: ndalton@ncdoj.gov
                                            
    Kimberly N. Overton
    Chief Resource Prosecutor
    North Carolina Conference of District Attorneys
    Post Office Box 3159
    Cary, NC 27519
    T: (919) 890‐1500 / F: (919) 890‐1931 ‐ fax
    Email: Kimberly.n.overton@nccourts.org
                                         
    Elizabeth Earleywine
    Office of Chief Counsel
    201 W. Center Court, 1st Floor
    Schaumburg, IL 60196
    T: 847‐221‐3082 / F: 847.221.3090
    Email: Elizabeth.Earleywine@illinois.gov
                                                 
    Mark Neil
    Senior Attorney, NDAA, National Traffic Law Center
    44 Canal Center Plaza, Suite 110
    Alexandria, VA 22314
    T: 703.519.1641 / F:703.836.3195
    Email: mark.neil@ndaa.org
                                            
    Brent G. Berkley
    Senior Attorney
    National District Attorneys Association
    44 Canal Center Plaza, Suite 110
    Alexandria, Virginia 22314
    T: 703.549.9222 / F: 703.836.3195
    Email: Brent.Berkley@ndaa.org
                                   
    Steve Talpins
    CEO
    National Partnership on Alcohol Misuse and Crime
    5405 Tuckerman lane, Unit 904
    North Bethesda, MD 20852
    T: 305.610.3585
    Email: stalpins@alcoholandcrime.org
                                            
    AASHTO
                                                
     
    N/A
                                      
     
    National Center for State Courts
                                      
     
    Hon. Lynda Howell, Judge
    Phoenix Municipal Court
    300 West Washington Ave.
    Phoenix, AZ 85003
    T: 602.495.5741 / F: 602.495.7364
    Email: Lynda.howell@phoenix.gov
                                       
    Hon. Steve Leifman
    Associate Administrative Judge
    Miami‐Dade County Court
    11th Judicial Circuit of Florida
    1351 N.W. 12th St., Rm. 617
    Miami, FL 33125
    T: 305/548‐5394 / F: 305/548‐5552
    Email: sleifman@jud11.flcourts.org
                                                 
    Hon. John M. Priester
    Division of Administrative Hearings
    Iowa Department of Inspections & Appeals
    3rd Floor Wallace State Office Building
    Des Moines, IA 50319
    T: (515) 281‐7165
    Email: john.priester@dia.iowa.gov
                                         
     
    National Transportation Safety Board
                                      
     
    Steve Blackstone
    National Transportation Safety Board
    490 L'Enfant Plaza East, SW
    Washington, DC 2059
    T: 202‐314‐6005 / F: 202.314.6178
    Email: blackis@ntsb.gov
                                  
     
    FMCSA
                                   
     
    Selden J. Fritschner
    Chief, Commercial Driver's License Division
    Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
    ESL / West Wing / 65‐331
    Washington, DC 20590
    T: 202.366.0677 / BB: 202.641.3966
    Email: selden.fritschner@dot.gov
                                    
     
    NHTSA
                                        
     
    Garrett Morford
    Chief, Enforcement & Justice Services
    NHTSA
    400 7th Street, S.W. / W44‐312
    Washington, DC 20590
    T: (202) 366‐4300 / F: (202) 366‐7721
    Email: gmorford@nhtsa.dot.gov
                                    
    Bill O’Leary
    Program Manager
    NHTSA
    400 7th Street S.W. / W44‐312
    Washington, DC 20590
    T: (202) 366‐4300 / F: (202) 366‐7721
    Email: bill.o’leary@dot.gov
                                      
    Governor’s Highway Safety Association
                                  
     
    Christopher J. Murphy, Director
    Office of Traffic Safety
    2208 Kausen Drive – Suite 300
    Elk Grove, CA 95758
    T: 916‐509‐3030 / F: 916‐509‐3055
    cmurphy@ots.ca.gov
                                         
     
    AAA
                                        
     
    Justin McNaull
    Director, State Relations
    607 14th Street, NW,
    Suite #200
    Washington, DC 20005
    T: 202‐942‐2065
    Email: JMcNaull@national.aaa.com
                                       
     
    Researchers
                                      
     
    Robert J. Eger, III
    Associate Professor & PhD Director
    Florida State University
    Government and Nonprofit Financial Management
    Askew School of Public Administration & Policy
    650 Bellamy Building
    Tallahassee, FL 32306‐2250
    T: 850‐645‐1914 / F: 850‐644‐7617
    Email: reger@fsu.edu
                                         
    Jon A. Carnegie, AICP/PP
    Executive Director, Alan M. Voorhees
    Transportation Center
    Edward J. Bloustein School of Planning & Public
    Policy, Rutgers University
    33 Livingston Ave. ‐ Fifth Floor
    New Brunswick, NJ 08901
    T: 732.932.6812 x606 / F: 732.932.3714
    Email: Carnegie@rci.rutgers.edu
                                            
    National Conference of State Legislatures
                                       
     
    Melissa Savage
    Senior Policy Specialist
    National Conference of State Legislatures
    7700 East First Place
    Denver, CO 80230‐0000
    T: 303‐364‐7700 (1527) / F: (303) 364‐7800
    Email: Melissa.Savage@ncsl.org
                                            
     
    Others
                                    
     
    Tom Dravland
    Secretary, Department of Public Safety
    118 W. Capitol Ave.
    Pierre, SD 57501
    T: (605) 773‐3178 / F: (605) 773‐3018
    Email: Tom.Dravland@state.sd.us
                                 
    Lt. Col. Doyle Eicher
    Colorado State Patrol
    700 Kipling Street Suite 3000
    Denver, CO 80215
    T: (303) 239‐4406 C: (303) 819‐5211
    Email: Doyle.Eicher@cdps.state.co.us
                                
    Joanne E. Michaels
    Director, National Traffic Law Center
    National District Attorneys Association
    44 Canal Center Plaza, Suite 110
    Alexandria, Virginia 22314
    T: (703) 519‐1645
    Email: joanne.michaels@ndaa.org
                                
    Isaac (Ike) Avery, Attorney at Law
    The Avery, P.C.
    PO Box 10174
    Raleigh, NC 27605
    T: (919) 829‐2423
    Email: iaverypc@gmail.com
                                   
    AAMVA Representatives
     
    Mike Calvin
    Vice‐President, Programs & Member Services
    AAMVA
    4301 Wilson Blvd, #400
    Arlington, VA 22203
    T: 703.908.8262 / F: 703.908.5890
    Email: mcalvin@aamva.org
                                       
    Fred Porter
    AAMVA Region I & II Operations
    1075 Cambridge Court
    Benton, AR 72015
    T: (501) 778‐7099 / F: (501) 778‐8267 /
    C: (501) 590‐4860
    Email: fporter@aamva.org
                                         
    Sheila Prior
    AAMVA Region III & IV Operations
    10800 North 101st Street
    Scottsdale, AZ 85260
    T: 480‐275‐4584 / F: 480‐393‐8988 /
    C: 703‐389‐7271
    Email: sprior@aamva.org
     

     

  • Related Content