• Autonomous Vehicle Subcommittee

  • The purpose of the Autonomous Vehicle Subcommittee is to work with the AAMVA jurisdictions, law enforcement, federal agencies and other stakeholders to gather, organize and share information with the AAMVA community related to the development, design, testing, use and regulation of autonomous vehicles and other emerging vehicle technology. Based on the group's research, a best practices guide will be developed to assist member jurisdictions in regulating autonomous vehicles and testing the drivers who operate them.

    For more information contact Cathie Curtis.

    AAMVA is pleased to announce that Highly Automated Vehicle Technical Assistance is available. AAMVA and NHTSA recognized the need to provide educational based technical assistance to jurisdictions as they expand their understanding of vehicle technology and develop a strategy to address AV testing and deployment. Technical assistance will be facilitated by AAMVA and conducted by jurisdictional subject matter experts and AAMVA staff. The costs to provide the technical assistance will be funded by NHTSA.

    A complete description of the available assistance and an application can be found here.


    Bernard Soriano, PhD 
    Deputy Director 
    California Department of Motor Vehicles 

    Vice Chair
    James Fackler  
    Director, Office of Program Support                               
    Customer Services Administration 
    Michigan Secretary of State 



    Lieutenant Colonel Richard Arnold
    Michigan State Police

    Keri Washabaugh
    Executive Director,
    Titles & Registrations
    Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles

    Christopher Caras
    Director, Driver License Division
    Utah Department of Public Safety  

    Assistant Chief Chris Childs
    California Highway Patrol

    Wendy Doyle
    Executive Director
    Office of Traffic Safety
    Alberta Transportation

    David Glasser
    General Counsel
    District of Columbia Department of
    Motor Vehicles   

    Erik Thomsen
    Team Leader, Special Projects
    Ontario Ministry of Transportation

    Christopher Ialuna
    Bureau Chief, Registration Bureau
    New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles

    Kevin Jacobs
    Office of Performance Management
    Florida Department of Highway Safety
    & Motor Vehicles

    Staff Sergeant Terence McDonnell
    Traffic Services
    New York State Police 

    April Sanborn
    DMV Services Manager III
    Management Services & Programs Division
    Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles 

    Robert Rowland
    CDL/Motor Carrier Coordinator
    Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles

    Kara Templeton
    Director, Driver Services
    Pennsylvania Department of Transportation

    Captain John Ehmsen

    Colorado State Patrol

    Marcy Coleman
    Assistant Administrator for Safety
    & Regulations
    Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles 

    Kevin Lacy
    State Traffic Engineer
    North Carolina Department of Transportation

    Courtney Saxon
    Deputy Director Field Services
    South Carolina Department of
    Motor Vehicles

    Daniel Yeh
    Manager, Vehicle Services
    Iowa Department of Transportation

    Federal Representatives


    Michelle Atwell
    Highway Safety Specialist
    Enforcement & Justice Services

    Selika Josiah Talbott
    Director of Executive Operations
    Senior Advisor


    Brett Robinson
    Vice President
    Highway Safety Services, LLC


    For more information about the Autonomous Vehicle Best Practices Working Group, please contact Cathie Curtis, AAMVA Project Manager, 207.395.4100, Casey Garber, 573.632.0245, or Brian Ursino, 703.350.5103.

  • Related Content