• Lifetime Achievement in Highway Safety - Law Enforcement

  • Category: Safety 

    Lifetime Achievement in Highway Safety - Law Enforcement

    The Lifetime Achievement in Highway Safety is presented annually to an AAMVA member jurisdiction employee or other individual whose primary function is directly associated with highway and traffic safety efforts and who has had a distinguished career in this arena. The individual can be currently active or retired. One award is presented for achievement in highway safety in Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) and one for achievement in highway safety in Law Enforcement (LE). This award is presented at the Annual International Conference.

    Nominations must be from a chief motor vehicle or chief law enforcement administrator only. In the event that the chief administrator is the nominee, the nomination can be submitted by a deputy administrator. Each jurisdiction agency can submit a nominee for each category (MVA and LE) but can submit only one nominee in each category (MVA and LE).

    For specific questions regarding awards and submissions, please contact Freshta Rosario.

    Selection Criteria

    • Extent of lifetime achievements
    • Impact on highway safety



    Captain Tom Fields (Retired), Law Enforcement Liaison, Vermont Governor’s Highway Safety Program, Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles

    Captain Tom Fields began his career with the Vermont State Police (VSP) as a uniformed trooper in 1973 in the Drug Abuse Control Unit. He moved up through the ranks and by 1980 was patrol commander in Shaftsbury, Vermont where he began work in traffic safety. In 1996, promoted to the rank of captain, Fields supervised the VSP Impaired Driving Team, a select group of troopers pro-active in DUI enforcement in the state. Upon retirement from the VSP, he continued his dedicated and committed work in traffic safety with the Governor’s Highway Safety Program (GHSP) as a law enforcement liaison. In 2016, Captain Fields received the Sergeant Michael Johnson Award for outstanding commitment to traffic safety from the Vermont GHSP. He has devoted his long career to helping to keep Vermont’s roadways safe and distinguished himself by developing innovative programs designed to improve traffic safety. In addition to his enforcement activities, he pursued research and consultation with law enforcement agencies nationwide, and developed a design for a mobile breath-testing vehicle specifically constructed for use in Vermont. In addition, Captain Fields supervised and managed a substantial grant from the GHSP for an innovative program called Safety Through Occupant Protection. This initiative was for the specific purpose of conducting saturation patrols to enforce Vermont’s seat belt and child passenger safety seat laws. He is a member of the Strategic Highway Safety Planning Committee and actively participates in the Vermont Highway Safety Alliance, a partnership of over fifty public and private entities that work towards the mission of zero deaths on the highways. Over his distinguished career, Captain Fields’ work has helped to make Vermont’s roadways safer, including a 25.7% reduction in major crashes. He has been a dedicated and outstanding leader for more than three decades and his unending enthusiasm and dedication continues to be an inspiration.

    Past Lifetime Achievement in Highway Safety - Law Enforcement Award Winners

    • 2017 - Colonel Ronald K. Replogle (Retired), Missouri State Highway Patrol
    • 2016 - Colonel Tracy Trott, Tennessee Highway Patrol
    • 2015 - Lt. Col. Jack Miniard, Kentucky State Police
    • 2014 - Colonel Mike Edmonson, Louisiana State Police 
    • 2013 - Captain Lenny Casper, New York State Police
    • 2012 - John Batiste, Chief  (Individual), Washington State Patrol
    • 2011 - Joe Farrow, Commissioner (Individual), California Highway Patrol
    • 2010 - Major David Salmon, (Retired) (Individual), New York State Police; Massachusetts State Police (Agency)
    • 2009 - Major John Hill (Individual), Indiana State Police; New York State Police (Agency)
    • 2008 - Colonel Mark Trostel, Chief (Individual), Colorado State Patrol; Missouri State Highway Patrol (Agency)
    • 2007 - Col. Paul McClellan (Retired), Superintendent, Ohio State Highway Patrol
    • 2005 - The Florida Highway Patrol
    • 2004 - Dwight O. Helmick,Commissioner, California Highway Patrol
    • 2003 - Colonel Lonnie Westphal, (Retired Chief, Colorado State Patrol
  • Related Content