• Public Affairs and Consumer Education (PACE) Working Group

  • Mission

    The Public Affairs and Consumer Education Discipline promotes public understanding of national and international motor vehicle and traffic safety issues by providing effective public relations assistance to the AAMVA community. 


    • Enhance communication and increase participation among communication professionals in the AAMVA community.
    • Provide a forum for idea and issue exchange for PACE members as well as a central source for PACE information.
    • Recognize exceptional communication efforts.
    • Promote highway safety.


    PACE Working Group

    • Claire O'Brien, AAMVA Staff Liaison
    • Patricia Mayers, Wisconsin Office of Public Affairs
    • Mike Marando, California  Department of Motor Vehicles
    • Caryn N. Coyle, Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration


    Recognize public relations, public affairs and consumer education excellence among the motor vehicle, law enforcement and traffic safety agencies across North America.

    Recognize creativity, cost effectiveness and the ability to reach consumers with a well crafted, measured and executed message.

    This year, AAMVA has expanded the awards categories to better recognize the many varied ways public affairs and communications professionals serve the AAMVA community. Take a look at the full list of categories here and complete the 2012 PACE Award Application form, available here. To apply, complete the first page of the document, the questionnaire on the second page, and include any supporting documentation or materials. Please limit your entries to no more than six submissions to allow us to properly evaluate all the entries we receive. Entries must be submitted by March 26, 2012.

    2012 PACE Award Winners

    Overall Division I Winner
    Print and Electronic Publications
    “DMVNow!” Electronic Employee Newsletter”
    Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles

    Overall Division II Winner
    “Vitesse au Volant: Le prix de la vie”
    Societe de l'assurance automobile du Quebec

    Overall Division III Winner
    Special Events
    “Share the Road 2011”
    New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission

    Overall Division IV Winner
    Washington State Patrol

    Overall Division V Winner
    Writing/Media Relations
    “ID Driver's License Central Issuance Media Coverage”
    Idaho Transportation Department, Division of Motor Vehicles

    Overall Division VI Winner
    Graphic Design
    “Driving Distracted”
    New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission

    Overall Division VII Winner
    “ICBC Licensing Mobile Application”
    Insurance Corporation of British Columbia

    Category 1C Winner

    Print or Electronic Media Kit
    “NO Interlock; NO Keys”
    Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles

    Category 1D Winner
    Other Print Publication
    “It’s Up to You! Countertop Display Mat”
    Illinois Secretary of State/Organ Donor Program

    Category 1E Winner
    Other Electronic Publication
    “Young Cyclist's Guide”
    Ontario Ministry of Transportation

    Category 2B Winner
    TV Commercial or PSA, internally-produced
    “Move Over. Slow Down. It's the Law”
    Washington State Patrol

    Category 2C Winner
    Radio Commercial or PSA, externally-produced
    “Save-a-Friend ‘93%’”
    Alberta Office of Traffic Safety

    Category 2E Winner
    Indoor or Outdoor Print Advertising
    “On the Spot Station Marketing”
    Utah Tax Commission - Division of Motor Vehicles

    Category 4A Winner
    Video Production, internally-produced
    “Serving Soldiers”
    Arizona Department of Transportation, Motor Vehicle Division

    Category 5A Winner
    New Release
    “DMV Unveils New Self Service Terminals”
    California Department of Motor Vehicles

    Category 5C Winner
    Feature Story
    “Where Are They Now?”
    Illinois Secretary of State Organ Donor Program

    Category 6A Winner
    “MAPSS Performance Dashboard”
    Wisconsin Department of Transportation

    Category 6B Winner
    “GA DDS ‘STITCH’ Illustrated Mascot”
    Georgia Department of Driver Services

    Category 6C Winner
    Photo Taken by a DMV Employee
    “Mammoet Megaload Weighment”
    Idaho Transportation Department, Division of Motor Vehicles

    Category 7A Winner
    Website, internally-produced
    “myBMV.com Website Redesign”
    Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles

    Category 7B Winner
    Website, externally-produced
    “Parents LEAD”
    North Dakota Department of Transportation

    Category 7D Winner
    Use of Social Media
    “Save Time Renew Online! Guy Vroom Goes Live on Social Media”
    Colorado Department of Revenue/Division of Motor Vehicles



    The competition is open to all AAMVA members in good standing. Entries for the 2012 Award must have been produced between Jan. 1 and Dec. 31, 2011. No entry may be submitted for judging in more than one subcategory. Entries are limited to six total submissions per agency.

    Awards Presentation

    Overall Division winners (highest score in the division) will be presented with their awards at the 2012 Annual International Conference; individual category winners will receive their awards at the appropriate regional conference..


  • Check Out 2011 PACE Award Winners!

  • Related Content