John Batiste

Chief John R. Batiste is the 21st chief of the Washington State Patrol. Governor Christine Gregoire originally appointed Chief Batiste on February 14, 2005. On January 16, 2017, Governor Jay Inslee reappointed Chief Batiste to continue to lead the Washington State Patrol. Chief Batiste oversees the day-to-day operations and manages the agency’s six bureaus: Commercial Vehicle Enforcement Bureau, Field Operations Bureau, Fire Protection Bureau (State Fire Marshal), Forensic Laboratory Services Bureau (statewide crime laboratories), Investigative Services Bureau, and Technical Services Bureau.

Chief Batiste began his career with the Washington State Patrol in March 1976. He has been promoted through the ranks of sergeant, lieutenant, captain, and deputy chief. Chief Batiste obtained his Bachelor’s Degree in Law Enforcement Administration from City University and is a graduate of Northwestern University’s Center for Public Safety School and Police Staff and Command, as well as a graduate of the Federal Bureau of Investigation’s National Executive Institute.

Chief Batiste has been involved in a variety of activities and organizations, including his work with the Kenya National Police Force to create a National Police Chaplain Program and the South African National Police Force to assist with training and procedures on ethical policing.

Chief Batiste is an executive board member of the following: Washington Association of Sheriffs and Police Chiefs, Western States Information Network, Washington Criminal Justice Training Commission, Washington Traffic Safety Commission, Department of Justice/VALOR Advisory Board, International Association of Chiefs of Police (IACP) Governing Body, and was a past general chair of the IACP State and Provincial Police Division. Chief Batiste serves as a member of the American Association of Motor Vehicles Region IV, National Organization of Black Law Enforcement Executives, and also serves on the Washington State Forensic Investigation Council, IACP Criminal Intelligence Coordinating Council, Governor’s Emergency Management Council, and IACP Transnational Crimes Committee.