Home > Members & Leaders > Committees & Working Groups
  • AAMVA Committees & Working Groups

  • The key to any association’s viability is the involvement of its members. AAMVA’s members are engaged in program and policy development.

    AAMVA has three standing committees: Driver, Law Enforcement and Vehicle .The three committees meet both independently and in joint session. Each committee is structured to best meet the needs and address the issues of the program area and has members from nine AAMVA discipline areas.

    Subject matter experts in each of these discipline areas are represented in each of AAMVA's three standing committees:

    • Driver Licensing & Control
    • Fraud
    • ID Management
    • Information Technology
    • Law Enforcement
    • Legal Services
    • Motor Carrier Services
    • Public Affairs & Consumer Education
    • Vehicle Registration & Title 

    Standing Committees 
    2017 Updates*

    2017 Committee Updates

     Playlist includes video updates from each of the three standing committees.


    AAMVA’s awards program fosters a tradition of excellence in the motor vehicle and law enforcement community by honoring individuals, teams, and organizations who have committed their time and resources to safety and security initiatives, outstanding customer service, and public affairs and consumer educational programs throughout North America. Each year, AAMVA receives numerous outstanding submissions in each category and through a rigorous judging process selects those that are exemplary. Awards are presented at our Regional Conferences and at our Annual International Conference.  

    Submission Information 

    All submissions must conform to the specifications listed in each award description. Each jurisdiction agency should complete and send one award entry form with the accompanying information specified in each award description. Please send a separate email for each award submission and include all materials for that award. If an award submission represents the work of more than one agency or entity, submit one entry form that has the contact information for each agency or entity.  All award submissions must be sent electronically. If the materials are too large to send by email, please place in a zip file and email to awards@aamva.org. 

    For specific questions regarding awards and submissions, please contact Jessica Hill at awards@aamva.org.

    2018 Deadlines and Timeline

    UPDATED 2018 Deadline Table


    AAMVA’s Awards Program is open to all AAMVA jurisdiction members that are in good standing. Entries submitted for the 2018 Awards must have been conducted (produced, implemented, and/or developed) between October 1 and September 30, 2017. If an entry won an award in 2017, it cannot be resubmitted in 2018 unless it has major upgrades or developments. Entries are to be submitted via email to awards@aamva.org by December 22, 2017 at 8 PM Eastern Time, including Martha Irwin award nominations. 

    Questions about your jurisdiction membership status should be directed to Dianne Graham at dgraham@aamva.org or 703.908.8267.

    Learn more

    Thank you for your interest in serving as a member of an AAMVA committee. There currently are no committee vacancies. Please continue to check back for notice of available positions.

    We keep all applications on file, so if you would prefer, please complete the committee member application form and return it by email. If you have any questions, please contact Dianne Graham at 703.908.8267.

    AAMVA Seeks Volunteers for Internet Vehicle Sales Working Group

    AAMVA has a working group to develop best practices for the regulation of internet vehicle sales, in an effort to provide recommendations and education to member jurisdictions for deterring and stopping fraud and deceptive practices.  We are seeking two jurisdiction applicants from either Region 1 or Region 2; one representative with dealer licensing expertise and one representative with experience investigating fraud activity related to vehicle sales, to fill existing vacancies on the working group. 

    After reviewing the expectations and you are interested in serving on this Working Group, please complete the application and send it to Dianne Graham at committees@aamva.org by February 28, 2018. Incomplete applications will not be accepted. If you have questions about the working group, please contact Cathie Curtis, AAMVA Staff - Project Manager.